[ascent.from.darkness] book review

Ascent from Darkness by Michael Leehan is the true story of a man whose addictions, rebellion and thirst for power led him to an agreement with Satan. For twenty years, Mike served the Enemy. But he’s not serving him now.

I’m not sure what exactly inspired me to choose this book to read but I’m so glad I did. From the very beginning, the Author’s Note, I was hooked.

I am not a biblical scholar, a seminary graduate, or a professional writer. I am not an expert on any denomination, cult, or religion. I am a person who has placed his faith in Jesus Christ and His promises for all believers. I am a flawed man who has seen God’s marvelous light and, by His grace and mercy, has literally been given a second chance at life. I’m simply here to share my story of what God did for me and continues to do in my life.

Undoubtedly, many will question the spiritual issues raised in a book that discusses Satanism. That’s to be expected. But let me be clear about this: I am now a child of the Most High God. My faith in Jesus Christ isn’t open for debate.

What a beginning! I commend Michael for telling his story. We each get one story to tell, our own, and this one is full and overflowing with the redemptive grace of our Savior, Jesus Christ.

I was struck by the resounding truths about life and death and spiritual warfare that I found as I read. But the very best part—the most glorious—is Michael’s amazing account of the day he accepted Christ. I literally felt the Spirit of God through the pages.

I read the ending to my husband (after sharing bits and pieces throughout the day) and the grin nearly split his face. “That’s the God I serve,” he said. Amen and Amen.

This book also contains the accounts of several of Michael’s friends who watched God work and move and bring salvation to a troubled lost man. Those too are worth the read!

The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading copy in exchange for my honest review through BookSneeze®

Leave a Reply

