weekend {links} 2/11

{something for your devotional time}

Meg sent me a text this week that said, “Psalm 25:14. Look it up in the greek.” What an amazing promise!

{something for the kitchen}

making a batch of homemade Bisquick so I can feed my husband pancakes more regularly (per his request)

{something for the craft room}

This is the combination of two pinterest finds… {this wall-hanging} and {this painting on wood tutorial} It didn’t turn out exactly perfect but I’m pleased none-the-less and I am planning on perfecting the skill!

{something to make you think}

letter to my children about marriage

{from the bookshelf}

The Book of Mark I’ve been going through Mark, looking for the things that Jesus did.

By this we may know that we are in him: 

whoever says he  abides in him 

ought to walk in the same way

in which he walked. 

I John  2:5-6 ESV

{from the sick room}

Yes, we’ve been fighting off sore throats and colds here. I’ve resorted to old family traditions (with a few tweeks of my own).

Tea. Always drink tea when you’re sick because, well, its the thing to do! I’ve mixed several “cold tea” recipes together to create a drink I love: 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/8 teaspoon thyme, 1/4 teaspoon whole cloves, 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper. (sometimes I also throw in a bag of black or green tea to add a little body) steep for five minutes, strain and enjoy with a generous tablespoon of honey.

As soon as I notice a sore throat I’ll begin drinking it 2-3 times a day until the burning from the cayenne starts bothering me. (when your throat is sore enough it feels good!) Usually only takes a day or two.

Chips. Yes, I said chips. But not just any chips. Salt and vinegar ones. I can remember my mama always eating them when her throat bothered and I’ve figured out why! Nothing soothes a sore throat faster. (Yes, you can just gargle with salt water but, seriously, this is way better.)

{technical update}

The site is getting a little face lift, in case you didn’t notice. Bear with me until we get it all fixed up!

One thought on “weekend {links} 2/11

  1. I love your weekend links – how you title them, for things to make and cook and think about. I shall try that tea today! (Yesterday’s tea was cayenne, ginger, and garlic – the thyme and cinnamon sound like a welcome change)
    thanks for the linky love, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

