[Titus 2] free and clean

That they may teach the younger women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, To be discreet, chaste…

Attributes of a godly woman (5) Chaste

Purity. For years that word brought one thing to mind: sexual purity. During my single years it was foremost in my thoughts; avoiding compromising situations, being careful not to become too attached to any of my guy friends, watching my thought life.

Now things are different. I’m married. Of course, I still need to be sexually pure. Yet, the fight doesn’t seem to be as hard. (I understand that for some women, it still is a battle. In that case, remember that God is faithful. 2 Timothy 2:13)

Still, purity has grown to include so many more things. One of the definitions of “chaste” is: pure in thought and deed: behaving in a pure way, with no immoral thoughts[1].

Pure in thought and deed. What a calling! To behave with purity in my thoughts… when I’m frustrated with a friend, when I’m angry at my husband, when I’m struggling with the leadership at church, when I’m… the list could go on and on. There are hundreds of circumstances when being pure is difficult.

In the world of music, a “pure” note is one that is without discord. How often are my thoughts full of discord? I don’t know about you but mine are on a regular basis. I really struggle in this area. By nature, my personality is one that carefully gathers facts and tries to find solutions. But sometimes my facts are more like feelings and sometimes my solutions bring only discord. They are not pure.

Remember! There is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. (Rom. 8:1) God isn’t standing there judging us. He is, however, calling us deeper. His desire is that we would begin reflecting him.

That is the heart of this passage in Titus. Deepening. Growing. Being transformed.

At times I am stunned at the graciousness and lovingness of our King. To think that he longs for us to be pure!  Free from contamination. Free and clean! That’s what he offers. How marvelous is that?

Make It Real

Take a moment, right now, to ask God to show you an area in your life that needs to be “purified”.  Are there things that you do that are not pure and lovely? Are there places in your thought life that need to be cleaned up? Don’t get discouraged! If you’re anything like me, a dozen things will come directly to mind. Just look at one thing at a time.


[1] Encarta ® World English Dictionary © & (P) 1998-2005 Microsoft Corporation

3 thoughts on “[Titus 2] free and clean

  1. I loved this post! I wear a purity ring so I have sexual purity, but I know that thoughts are still not pure all the time. Pray for me 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: correct interpretation of “to the pure, all things are pure” (Titus 1:15) « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

Leave a Reply

