weekend {5/4}

{something for your devotional time}

This week has been a zinger on the home front. Most days I’ve had at least five kids. Yesterday it crept up to eight. I felt, very personally, the struggle that moms speak of when trying to find devotional time.

So, yesterday, I tried something different! We all did devotions together. Then picked a favorite verse. I happened to have some poster board and sticky letters so we wrote out the verse and then, while they were coloring, I took time to pray and read a bit more!

Here was the outcome! (missing the two babies who were standing in the doorway behind me.)

{something from the kitchen} 

I’ve been a bit boring in the kitchen. Veggie-noodles and chicken with salad most days. Last night my husband pulled out a few packages of venison. (side note: to get the gamey taste out of wild meat, cook it in apple cider vinegar. works wonders!)

But today, oh, today, I have grand plans! I want to start a couple kinds of sauerkraut! Inspired by my friend, Trina’s posts, I’m hoping to have the kids help me shred carrots and cabbage. (And this Mexican kind? I think I will just have to try!)

{something from the craft room}

The kids and I wrote a book. Yes, a book! It was such a blast! I haven’t bound it yet but it was done Tuesday and everyday since they ask, “Pallleeezzzee, can we read the pocketknife book? Paaallleeezzeee, Tasha?!”

Just some card stock that we covered with contact paper and it makes them oh, so happy! 

{something to make you think}

Yesterday was National Day of Prayer. My goal for this period of my life is to be more intentional about my prayer life. I made a Prayer List (just chalkboard paper in a cheap little frame) and was very encouraged by this post on finding time to pray right in the midst. 

{something to make you laugh}

for all you Anne of Green Gables lovers out there… 

{something from the bookshelf}

This week I reviewed the book God Loves Broken People (and those who pretend they’re not) if you haven’t read the review, I encourage to jump on over and enter the giveaway as well! 

9 thoughts on “weekend {5/4}

    • Thank you, 🙂 I’m sure not having kids and wanting them adds to my “energy” when they’re around! 🙂 But being an aunt really is just about as good!

      Like

  1. Love Anne of Green Gables: Our home-school group (CDC LEAH) just did Anne of Green Gables for their spring program.

    What a great idea to have everyone work together on devotions!

    Like

    • How fun! I would have loved to do something like that when I was in school… We did a lot (what I like to call) “boy stories” like Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn. They were fun too, mind you, but oh, I would have loved to do Anne.

      Like

    • How fun! I would have loved to do something like that when I was in school… We did a lot (what I like to call) “boy stories” like Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn. They were fun too, mind you, but oh, I would have loved to do Anne.

      Like

  2. Good Morning Natasha,
    I’m just doing a little catching up on blog reading. I loved everything you shared here. What wonderful, encouraging ideas! I feel blessed to have you in my life now, even though we haven’t met… yet. 🙂 Have a beautiful day finding more of our loving King! ~ Blessings, Amy

    Like

Leave a Reply

