When Connection is Needed

The babies are sleeping. Little one-year-old Eli is fighting a fever so he snuggled in so happily, content to have a binky and a kiss. My “twins” (Aiden and Hadassah, both two-years-old) fell asleep with just a few minutes of back rubs and whispered lullabies.

The cake is in the oven. Today’s chocolate cake claims to be the best buttermilk cake I will ever taste. Coffee, sugar, chocolate and buttermilk can’t be a bad combination. The house is smelling warm and soft. The hazelnut coffee I brewed filling it with a cozy feeling of the old farmhouse on my grandparents farm.

The older two (Four-year-old  Elyse and six-year-old Dominic) are waiting out their rest time on the couch, fighting sleep while they anticipate the timer for the cake to go off, giving them freedom to resume playing.

Worship music is softly filling the empty spaces. Waterdeep and Sara Groves and iworship Experience taking turns drawing my mind back to the Maker and Redeemer.

I have so many things to do. An ebook to finish editing, dishes to wash, laundry to catch up on– but I am feeling that desperate need to connect back to my source. My reason. The very center of my existence.  I am here to bring glory to Him alone. 

My lists can wait.

I’m going to keep sipping my hazelnut coffee and bathing in the redemption of a God who fills me with songs of joy.

Life sometimes creeps up. Hard things push the truth from sight. And moments are needed to connect back. To place my hope and my joy and my love squarely back in the hands of the only one who can redeem the brokenness.

five minutes. one word. no editing. 
Come over to Lisa-Jo Baker's and join in?
5 thoughts on “When Connection is Needed

  1. You’re right, life can creep up! You bring to mind one of my favorite Lewis quotes:

    “The real problem of the Christian life comes where people do not usually look for it. It comes the very moment you wake up each morning. All your wishes and hopes for the day rush at you like wild animals. And the first job each morning consists simply in shoving them all back; in listening to that other voice, taking that other point of view, letting that other larger, stronger, quieter life come flowing in. And so on, all day. Standing back from all your natural fussings and frettings; coming in out of the wind.”

    “We can only do it for moments at first. But from those moments the new sort of life will be spreading through our system: because now we are letting Him work at the right part of us. It is the difference between paint, which is merely laid on the surface, and a dye or stain which soaks right through.” (Mere Christianity)

    Thanks for the reminder to “come in out of the wind,” and the reason why we are here, to glorify God. I enjoy your writing! Looking forward to your eBook!

    Like

Leave a Reply

