when life gets hard

Sometimes life clouds right up with hard.

I’m tired, there are kids whining and pulling at my skirt, there is paperwork than needs to be filled out, my husband is hungry and in a hurry, the bills are stacking up, my hair is frizzed out, my sister is moving too many miles away from me, there are bills to juggle and… well, the list could go on for quite some time.

I forget.

Over and over.

There is a God who longs to walk through every single moment with me. He cares about all the small details. When I drop my head and lift my  hands, saying again, “Lord, give me grace.” He answers. He is not alien to the feeling of being overwhelmed. He is not disappointed in my weakness– on the contrary!

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

2 Corinthians 12:9

God delights in meeting us right where we are. He rejoices in showing His strength, in pulling us from the depths.

The four little babies who came to visit me today are all snuggled in, softly snoring. There is music playing quietly. The Tug Hill breeze smells like fall. There are apples and cucumbers and huge juicy sweet cantaloupe covering my counters. Chai tea is heating on the stove, filling the air with the scent of cinnamon and ginger.

Grace and grace and more grace.

I wish I could plaster a sign to my forehead that says, “Have you asked God for grace today?” I need Him. Today. Tomorrow. The next day. New every morning.

Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

2 Corinthians 12:9

Have you asked Him for grace today?

12 thoughts on “when life gets hard

    • Thank you! It was actually a photograph from my sister-in-law’s baby shower this summer. The cake was cute but I was totally taken with the hydrangea sitting next to it… 🙂

      Like

  1. What a truth you just shared sister! Still praying for you in completing your book endeavor… taking His grace by the hand today with you! Thanks for sharing on my blog this mornin… 🙂 ~ Blessings out, Amy

    Like

  2. |Sometimes life clouds right up with hard……I forget|

    We do tend towards forgiveness and grace enough for everyone but ourselves in these moments, don’t we? It’s all part of the process of being earnest and honest and “working out our salvation with fear and trembling.” That’s what I believe.

    The longer I hang out in the “blogosphere” I’m recognizing how few folks like you there are and whose motives are simply to tell it like it is while giving glory to the One who makes ALL things new.

    I love that about you Natasha and I’m glad He allowed our paths to cross. ((huggssss))

    Like

    • Thank you, so very much. I, too, am grateful that our paths crossed. Am loving the community that I’ve found here and through Allume. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

