things i love about my husband {9} change

28 days of intentionally honoring my spouse

I told him that I thought God was telling me to write a book.

He frowned. “You spend so much time writing as it is,” he said a bit roughly, “are you saying that you’ll be on the computer more?

The conversation continued and left me in turmoil. Maybe I was wrong. Maybe this whole thing was a bad idea, or just a personal wish. Maybe it wasn’t something God was asking me to do.

We came to an uneasy conclusion. I could write. And he would give his blessing but I knew he struggled with it.

I tried to be careful to write while he was gone and spend time with him when he was around. But deep down, I was still wondering.

One night, soon after it was finished, he didn’t come to bed until two in the morning. He slipped in, picked up my hand, kissed it and I felt the tears on his cheek. “It’s good,” he whispered, “It’s really, really good. And I’m so proud that you’re mine and that you were faithful to write. And what you’re doing is good. Forgive me for ever discouraging you.”

When I told him six months later that I thought I should write another book, he just smiled.

I love that he’s willing to change.

That he clearly states his thoughts on a subject and just as clearly acknowledges when he was acting out of selfish motivation. I am in awe of this trait and I want to learn from him.

The Challenge:

Has your husband ever changed his opinion or attitude toward something that you love?

The ability to change is actually a priceless trait. One that is easy to skim over in other people, and difficult to actual live out in oneself. (at least for me!) But definitely something worth of honoring. 🙂

9 thoughts on “things i love about my husband {9} change

  1. Wow! What a blessing!
    It seems that we have even more in common than I thought!
    My hubby gave his uneasy okay on my writing/publishing first, too.
    It’s taken about two years for him finally to start accepting it (speaking of it in a good way). Yesterday was the first day he’s actually told me he was proud of it. He was so sweet, I could have cried.
    I am sooo thankful. It’s tremendously hard to find the balance between two great God-given passions. God gives us our husbands, but He oftentimes gives us something else to do, too!
    Those things don’t have to be in opposition to each other. But sometimes it seems that something makes them be. At least for a while.
    So thankful for you, sister! And yes, the ability to change is definitely priceless!

    Like

  2. I probably should have joined you in this venture this month. Given the circumstances I find myself in right now … I wasn’t sure I could think of 30 things I loved enough to write about. Which is WHY I should have joined you! Anyway … about the writing … mine keeps telling me that I SHOULD write a book! I just haven’t found the story God wants me to write yet!

    Like

    • I do understand. Sometimes it simply is harder than others. ❤

      How exciting that he's encouraging you to write though! I'm sure God will give you the story in time. {hugs}

      Like

  3. Yes, my husband is very similar. I’ve always thought of him as a quick learner which is hugely helpful to us both! Blessings this weekend to you and yours girl. ~ Amy

    Like

  4. I think this is beautiful. This post and also this way you’re choosing of honouring your husband “out loud”. It’s so sweet. Thank you for sharing insights, too, with those of us who are still wondering about the guys we’re going to marry … 🙂

    Like

  5. Eating real food. My husband had a hard time and the way he questioned me discouraged me. It’s been more than a year since we’ve been making changes, and he’s attitude is better! He looks up things online to learn more. He’s even shared it with his friends and were met with attitude he once had. This is important to me, so he’s learning to change his attitude towards it.

    Like

    • Hopefully someday I’ll have this testimony about my husband! 🙂 He still begs for white bread. *sigh*

      Love that your husband is jumping on board!

      Like

Leave a Reply

