things i love about my husband {14} imperfection

28 days of intentionally honoring my spouse

He’s never given me a birthday present. Not once.

The first year we were married he bought me a Christmas present (a washer and dryer) but that was the one and only time that Christmas arrived with a gift.

When I told him that I was going to be switching our diet around to help me with health related issues, his response wasn’t so much, “Anything you need, dear, count on me to be there every step.” It was more like, “As long as you still make me potatoes, white bread and chocolate cake.”

He sometimes helps with the dishes, if I get way behind, but the entire time he gives me mini-lectures on how/why I wash dishes wrong. (I have since banned him from helping me with dishes. Though I wonder sometimes if that was his goal.)

I could probably go on, but the point of this is not to bash my husband. It is to say one simple thing:

I love his imperfections. 

Want to know why? Because… I’m a terrible housekeeper. I’m overweight. I forget important things all.the.stinking.time. I can be lazy. When I’m reading a book, I’m pretty sure the house could burn down around me and I wouldn’t notice. I forget to switch the laundry. Quite often. I’m… well, you get the point. 

I am imperfect too. 

And I love that we match right up. All his imperfections and all mine. And together we get the chance to learn grace. Grace for each other and grace for ourselves.

I don’t want to be compared to some girl who never lets her house get dirty, makes a gazillion dollars a week, wears a size 6, and never hides with her nose in a book. So, I won’t ever compare him to the guy who always buys the perfect gifts, happily eats romaine lettuce wraps and washes dishes with a smile on his face.

We’re just two imperfect people, him and I. We’re just the same.

And I love him for it. 

The Challenge:

It’s easy to list our husband’s faults with frustration, but have you ever listed them with thankfulness? Thankfulness that he is no different that you. That his imperfections give you the chance to offer grace.

 

p.s. Pain Redeemed is still available at the sale price of $1.99 for a few more hours! Just go here.

11 thoughts on “things i love about my husband {14} imperfection

  1. This made me smile. My hubby doesn’t buy me presents or chocolates or even cards or flowers for holidays. But he loves me and that is worth more than any perishable gift. 🙂

    Like

    • Absolutely! My husband brought me flower the other day for the first time in years, but he actually had not even considered that Valentine’s Day was close. He was just coming home early because it was storming and wanted to surprise me. Lol!

      Like

  2. This was lovely, Natasha. God is pretty good at pairing up imperfect people, isn’t He?
    It’s kinda funny, because on a bad day, when I mess up, my husband gets mad at me.
    But on a good day, when I mess up, he stands there and grins.
    “Wow… now I feel pretty good!” He says.
    And I feel like smacking him. But… I love him too much. 😉

    Like

  3. This is a wonderful reminder to remember our own imperfections when tempted to complain about someone else’s–especially common in marriages. Thanks, Natasha.

    Like

  4. On the first day you posted the first of these, I really skipped it. I felt jealous over the title because I cannot, can-not, find something good to say about my spouse right now (or right after we had our eldest and until now). However, today, I felt compelled to read more after the first lines under the picture. As I read, I feel like I wrote it myself.
    Wow, Nat (can I call you Nat?), I now feel guilty I did not read the first post. I can’t even take my head up to the challenge your last paragraph implies. But I know I must and I should. After all, we are all imperfect.

    And yes, “I don’t want to be compared to some girl who never lets her house get dirty, makes a gazillion dollars a week, wears a size 6, and never hides with her nose in a book. So, I won’t ever compare him to the guy who always buys the perfect gifts, happily eats romaine lettuce wraps and washes dishes with a smile on his face.”

    We are not these people (I love books and he doesn’t eat any lettuce). We are who we are. Gazillion of thanks and much love to you! Happy Love Day! ♥

    Like

    • First of all: my best friend called me Nat in high school. 🙂 I’ve always had a fondness for the nickname.

      Second of all: don’t feel guilty. I know that we are all at different places- and sometimes it is much harder to love than others.

      I will be praying that things get better and that as you love, you will feel loved. {hugs}

      Like

  5. Thank you S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡ much forsharing this. Its very easy to pick on our spouses imperfections and forget that we are just as guilty. Its good to know that I’m not alone and its always better to extend grace to one another.

    Like

Leave a Reply

