Faith in Life and Death (and infertility)

I was sitting on the sofa, tears streaming down my face. My words came out stuttered and halting. “I just feel like now it’s final. I’ll never have a child.”

It sounded harsh, even to my own ears. My husband’s hand tightened around mine.

And then the man seated across the room from me sighed heavy. “Actually, Tasha,” he said, “I’ve been sensing something from the Lord for awhile about this, but I didn’t want to say anything in case I was wrong. Truthfully, it was just fear because I don’t want anything to be harder for you. But I’m going to say it. You’re going to have a child, soon.”

I was too tired to laugh, as Sarah did. And too desperate for hope to refute him, as the Shunammite woman did to Elisha in 2 Kings 4. 

Instead, I just sat back and listened while everyone in the room, including my husband, agreed that they felt this to be true. I guess time will prove if it’s really You, Lord. 

I wonder, actually, if the Shunammite woman thought something similar. As I read through 2 Kings 4 this morning, it kept hitting me over and over– the way her faith, though sketchy at first, grew and blossomed under the strangest of circumstances.

She did have a baby, you know. A little boy. One who grew up, apparently healthy, until the day his head starting hurting. After his father took him home from the fields, he lay in his mother’s lap until afternoon and then died.

Died.

Right there in his mother’s lap.

The child of God’s promise. Dead.

But somehow, through the years of barrenness, and despite her initial fear at Elisha’s prophecy, the Shunammite woman had become a pillar of faith. She laid the boy down on a bed, got up and went after Elisha. She even told him, “All is well.” when she got there! But then she held her ground and demanded that Elisha return with her to her dead son.

And he goes. And the child is restored to life.

Her faith just grows from there. We know because we get a little snippet of narrative about her later on, when her land is restored to her through another set of miraculous incidents.

God often uses strange circumstances to bring about miracles. And He builds up our faith through the most trying of times- restoring hope and life, even in the face of death.

I know, because less than a month after our conversation in the living room, we brought our daughter home.

Faith in Life and Death (and infertility) #WordSnacks

11 thoughts on “Faith in Life and Death (and infertility)

  1. Natasha,

    I have just recently found your blog and I am so blessed by it. I read the “But Why Does She Get Babies” post and felt like you had looked into my heart and poured out its contents on the page!

    I am most encouraged by the enormous amount of Truth presented straight from God’s Word in each post. Thank you for this path of ministry in which you are faithfully serving God and presenting a Christ – centered perspective on an issue that many suffer from ((I have recently discovered)), but few are open about. The Lord is using you in my life.

    Love and Prayers,

    Casey*

    Liked by 2 people

    • I am so thankful that you have been blessed– and that God is working.

      And thanks for taking time to comment. Your encouragement means so much!

      Like

  2. Hi Natasha,

    I have been following your blog for probably three years now. It’s been four years since my husband and I first started trying to get pregnant. Your ups and downs have mirrored my own, and your faith and hope has been an incredible encouragement to me.

    I had a miscarriage last year, and, because of that, I started going to an alternative medicine clinic to address my physical health issues. Around the same time I started going to the clinic, I started listening to a podcast called the Daily Audio Bible. The host of the podcast, Brian, reads portions of the Bible every day, reading through the whole thing in one year. He doesn’t just read the Bible, however; he also plays prayer requests that people call in throughout the week. I have called in a few times throughout the year, asking people to pray for my struggles with infertility. It has been such a blessing to me to know that people I don’t even know are praying for me.

    About a month and a half ago, we felt like God was telling us to move. So we’re going through all the stuff that comes with buying and selling a house and have really had to trust God completely through it all. Just completely surrender to him.

    Then, yesterday, as I’m listening to the prayer requests on the Daily Audio Bible, I hear Benjamin from New Zealand (!) call in and say that he had a vision that someone who was having a problem having a baby was going to have a baby. That there was something wrong with this person, but there isn’t anymore. That it was going to be a miracle baby. Well, I got chills and started sobbing when I heard that because I believe he called around last Sunday the 5th. And amazingly enough my husband and I tried to conceive over the weekend for the first time in a year and a half! Sunday was actually the day that I ovulated and when conception would have most likely taken place. That’s too amazing to be coincidence.

    I still can’t believe it’s true. That God would choose a man in New Zealand to tell me that I’m going to have a baby. It’s too early to know for sure if I’m pregnant or not, but God has given me faith to believe that he will give me what he has promised.

    I just had to share this because your post today was spot on with what I’m going through.

    God bless you, Natasha!

    Like

    • Oh, wow, Sarah! Am praying that God reveals Himself to you in a deeper way than you’ve ever seen before. Looking forward to hearing the rest of your story someday. ❤ ❤

      Like

      • I found out yesterday that I am indeed pregnant! I’m 4
        weeks today, and I don’t know what the future holds. But God is faithful, and I am holding onto his promises. Thanks for your prayers and encouragement!

        Like

    • Sarah,

      I am praying for you! I just read your response to this post and am in almost the same situation. My husband and I have also been trying to have children for ((almost)) 4 years now and we also had a miscarriage last year in August. I don’t think it is a mistake that we both commented on this post today! I am encouraged by you and praying that your womb is indeed full as we “speak.” No matter the case, please know that you have yet another prayer warrior who is experiencing almost the exact same thing you are!

      Casey*

      Liked by 1 person

      • Casey,

        Wow! We also have been trying to have children for almost four years. We actually started in January 2011. And my miscarriage also happened in August. I am convinced that God used this blog to bring us together and find out that we have a very similar story, just so we can pray for each other. Thank you so much for your prayers and know that you are in mine as well.

        To God be the glory!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Natasha,
    I just recently found your blog and I am so thankful I did!! We have been going thru infertility for 6 1/2 years. 3 failed IVF attempts. Thru your blog I’ve began to realize Gods purpose of building my faith thru this horrible time. Thank you so much for your openness and I love how you share Gods word! God is using you to bless my heart and once again draw closer to God!!
    God Bless!

    Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so excited for you Tasha!! I’ve been waiting for this chapter in your life with expectation; and I smile every time I think about you and your daughter!! 😀 Thanks for the reminder in this “TRUTH” snack! I’m going to study the Shunammite Woman more and pray that God work in me Shunammite Woman Faith!! Isn’t it amazing that she said, “All is well?” wow!! That’s some awesome ability to cling to God’s promises and see beyond the natural here & now!!! Blessings to you, my friend!!
    Rhonda

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

